General Skilled Migration

Skilled Visas

General Skilled Migration

Applicants who have skills in demand may be eligible to apply for a Skilled visa. Employer sponsorship does not apply to Skilled visas. Requirements include english skills, qualifications and/or work experience and satisfaction of the points test criteria. It is important to keep in mind that requirements vary depending on each individual situation.

There are 4 different types of Skilled visas:

  • -Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189) – Permanent Residency
  • -Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190) -Permanent Residency
  • -Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) – Temporary Residency
  • -Skilled Regional visa (Subclass 191) – Permanent Residency

Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189)  – Permanent Residency

The Skilled 189 visa is for skilled workers who are not sponsored by an employer or family member or nominated by a state or territory government. The Skilled 189 visa allows you to live and work anywhere in Australia as a permanent resident.

Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190) – Permanent Residency

The Skilled 190 visa is for skilled workers who are nominated by an Australian state or territory government agency. Sponsorship by an employer or family member is not applicable. This visa allows you to live and work in a particular Australian state or territory as a permanent resident.

Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) – Temporary Residency

The Skilled 491 visa is specifically for regional areas and requires state or territory government nomination or sponsorship by an eligible relative. Permanent residency can be applied for after 3 years if you can prove that you have lived, worked, studied in a regional area.

Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa (Subclass 191) – Permanent Residency

This permanent residency option will be available for those who have held the 491 visa for at least 3 years and complied with visa conditions including living, working or studying in a regional area. You will also need to meet minimum taxable income requirements to qualify for permanent residency.

Key features applicable to Skilled visas:

  • you  must nominate an occupation on the relevant skilled occupation list for the visa subclass you wish to apply for
  • you must prove that you have relevant skills for your nomination occupation, different criteria applies for each occupation
  • the best option for you will depend on your specific situation
  • you must not have turned 45 years of age, if you are over 45 other visa options may apply
  • you must meet at least 65 points of the migration points test *please note in some cases 65 points will not be sufficient
  • you must prove that you have at least a competent level of english, the english score applicable for your situation will depend on various factors including your occupation, visa subclass and your overall skills and experience
  • You can be in or outside Australia when you apply and when the visa is granted – the entire process can be managed by our specialists wherever you are located

As migration laws are complex and legislation changes regularly it is important to ensure that you obtain the right information for your specific situation. We recommend you request a migration assessment to ensure you have a clear understanding of all options before making any decisions.